Transparency for Life

So, in trying to keep up (or rather…catch up!) with all my Reader feeds, one of the first posts that caught my attention was from Will Richardson about transparency in education.  I couldn’t even attempt to restate the coherent points that he so eloquently makes, so I strongly recommend checking out his post:

Transparency=Leadership

I agree completely with what Richardson has to say.  And here’s my favorite part:

“I have more and more of an expectation of the teachers and especially the administrators in our schools to lead transparent lives. The fact that they are veritably “un-googleable” in terms of finding anything they have created and shared and perhaps collaborated with others on troubles me on a number of levels. First, I can’t see for myself whether or not they are learners. And, almost more importantly, I get no sense as to whether or not they are leaders of learners. Whether they are in the classroom or in the front office, I want (demand?) the adults in my schools to be effective models for living in a transparent world. I want my kids to see them navigating these spaces effectively, sharing what they know, teaching others outside of their physical space, and contributing to the conversation.”

I believe we should all be leading transparent lives.  Period.  Not just from a learner/leader/educator/business perspective, however, but from a full-on, all-the-times of life perspective!  Be who we are at all places and times.  In fact, I think someone used words similar to these to describe this idea long before the term “transparency” became the new buzz word:

“And don’t say anything you don’t mean. This counsel is embedded deep in our traditions. You only make things worse when you lay down a smoke screen of pious talk, saying, ‘I’ll pray for you,’ and never doing it, or saying, ‘God be with you,’ and not meaning it. You don’t make your words true by embellishing them with religious lace. In making your speech sound more religious, it becomes less true. Just say ‘yes’ and ‘no.’ When you manipulate words to get your own way, you go wrong.

Matthew 5:36-38 (The Message)

If we all lead these kinds of lives, we should have nothing to hide 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

